Tom's Glasgow Mag #14

Mama's Thai, Christmas Toys and Calum Bowie

Hey! If you like what you see, please forward this email to a friend, co-worker, or family member. I would really appreciate it!

Got this email from someone? Click here to subscribe yourself!

Opening Remarks

Hello and welcome! I hope you’re doing great.

Now that Halloween is officially past us, we can start counting down to Christmas. I don’t know about you but I am not bursting with excitement at the thought of packed streets and shops. However, I do have to say that I’m looking forward to seeing Christmas decorations now that I work in town. Why am I talking about Christmas at the beginning of November? Ah, I want you to consider donating toys to families in the East End. More about it below. I would also like to introduce you to my pal’s delicious cooking and Calum Bowie’s new tune.

Happy reading!

Tom

Do You Work in Town? Are You Tired of Boring Lunches? Check Out Mama’s Thai!

Source: Mama’s Thai

If you work in the city centre and suffer from the boring lunch syndrome, I would love you to consider ordering food from Mama’s Thai. My pal Lentai has started her own food business. She cooks delicious, 100% authentic, high-quality Thai food. Lentai’s dishes are prepared according to her family recipes and bursting with flavour! I do have to say, I was lucky enough to taste her green curry and it was soo good! She delivers free of charge, only within the city centre area (map below). Why not make your co-workers a wee bit jealous? Spice up your lunch!

Source: Mama’s Thai

“I first started cooking when I was 8 years old,” Lentai shared with me when I asked her to appear in the newsletter. “I was helping in the kitchen and watching my grandparents cook since I was a wee girl. They taught me a lot about different ingredients and how they can be used in various dishes. My grandmother used to have a street food cafe in our village. Everyone loved going there to eat!”

Source: Mama’s Thai

I know for a fact that Lentai dedicates a lot of time to Mama’s Thai. From shopping to cooking to delivering orders, she’s passionate about her business and wants it to grow. “My mum passes on all of her recipes and ideas to me. Every single ingredient is there for a reason. I would love for people to explore Thai culture through my food,” said Lentai.

Source: Mama’s Thai

So… if you’d like to have something a bit more high-quality for your lunch at work, please get in touch with Lentai. Veggie and Halal options are available. There is an option to order food for events and home parties. CLICK HERE to visit the official Instagram page of Mama’s Thai.

If you would like to have your business mentioned in my newsletter for free, please contact me by sending an email to [email protected].

Always Stay Safe Out There

We should all feel safe on our streets. Sometimes we second-guess ourselves or deny ourselves experiences because we’re not sure whether it’s safe to do something, especially late at night.

Strut Safe is a free, non-judgemental and volunteer-operated support line. They stay on the phone with you until you reach your destination. It doesn’t matter where you are going or where you come from. They are kind and stand in solidarity with marginalised people, so give them a call if you don’t feel like you can trust other phone lines. Their phone number is 0333 335 0026. Please forward this to your friends who might be interested.

Note: This feature originally appeared in issue #8. I am including it again because we’re entering the Bonfire Night/Christmas parties period and we all know that things can get a bit jazzy on the streets.

Christmas Toy Appeal

Having a clear out? Your kids or young siblings don’t play with their toys anymore? Why not donate them?

Whiterose Community Hall is holding a Christmas Toy Collection between the 7th and 10th of November. Their team is looking for brand new and good-condition toys that will be donated to families within the East End of Glasgow.

You can contact them on Facebook by clicking HERE or by calling the office on 0141 5566222 to arrange a drop-off.

Please consider donating if you can!

The song of the issue is Running Boy by Calum Bowie

Calum Bowie is gradually becoming a self-made Scottish superstar. Originally from Banchory in Aberdeenshire, Calum achieved incredible popularity during lockdown, when he started posting videos of himself singing and playing guitar from the window of his student flat in Edinburgh. I’m only in my room window when there’s drama on the street… 🙊

Calum has been writing and recording original songs for several years, but his career really took off in 2023. He went from penning his own lyrics to performing at Murrayfield, doing a sold out UK tour, and gaining a fanbase that is so crazy about him that they are willing to travel for hours to see him perform. His track Call Me Back is approaching 1 million streams on Spotify alone. We support this legend. Please give Calum a listen if you haven’t already. His new song Running Boy was released this week.

That’s it for today, folks! See you in two weeks’ time.

All the best,

Tom