Tom's Glasgow Mag #12

Records And Churches

Hey! If you like what you see, please forward this email to a friend, co-worker, or family member. I would really appreciate it!

Got this email from someone? Click here to subscribe yourself!

Opening Remarks

Hello and welcome! I hope you’re doing great.

I’m certainly not too bad! Some people at my work have already started getting ready for Halloween and discussing potential costume ideas. Who knows, maybe this year I will actually dress up as something? That would be a first. Mariah Carey is defrosting as we speak, so let’s make the most out of Autumn before the Christmas shopping craze takes over!

Speaking of craze, I am seeing Miriam Margolyes this weekend at the SEC Armadillo! I absolutely adore her. Once, I texted a bunch of celebrities, asking for a chance to interview them. Miriam was the only one who replied. “Sorry, but no” was her reply. But at least she did reply!

Happy reading!

Tom

Glasgow Record Fair at the Bellahouston Leisure Centre

Source: vip-24.com

Any vinyl lovers here? A big record fair is happening on the 14th of October at the Bellahouston Leisure Centre, next to Junction 24 M8. The organisers call it “the biggest selection since the days of the SECC”. Apart from vinyl, there will be lots of CDs, DVDs and memorabilia. It’s been said that some of the dealers taking part come from abroad just for this event. And some others don’t even sell their stuff anywhere else. That means a great opportunity for those wanting to get their hands on rare pressings. My former university lecturer, known for his sublime taste in music, has declared himself interested on Facebook, so surely it’s not one to miss!

The event offers free parking for all. The times are 10 am until 3:30 pm. Entry is £3 at the door but early bird tickets are also available to those wanting to avoid crowds. If you require more information, CLICK HERE to visit the official website. Happy hunting!

Glasgow Vintage Vehicle Trust’s Final Hurrah of the Year

Source: Joan

Our friends at the Glasgow Vintage Vehicle Trust are getting ready for their final big event of the year. The Annual Open Weekend will take place on the 14th and 15th of October between 10 am and 5 pm.

During that special weekend, their historic Bridgeton garage will turn into a colourful display of vintage buses, fire engines and commercial vehicles. It’s a wonderful opportunity to spend a greyish October weekend among the vibrant tones of the past. It’s not all about aesthetics though, as there will be opportunities to learn about vehicle preservation and restoration.

You will also get a chance to visit their Wee Happy Shop, full of souvenirs, books, magazines, etc. For delicious home baking, pay a visit to the Clippie’s Cafe. Oh, and don’t forget those free vintage bus rides happening around the city!

The entry costs £8 for adults and £5 for children and seniors. Under 5s are guaranteed free entry. Both cash and card accepted. CLICK HERE for more information.

Something About the Old Bargeddie Parish Church

Picture taken by me

I’ve lived in the East End of Glasgow for over six years now, and this old church, situated roughly between Baillieston and Easterhouse (at least that’s how I would describe it) has always interested me. Why is it literally in the middle of “nowhere", among the fields and greenery?

I used to walk around the area quite a lot, often walking past it during my travels. The place has always reminded me of some sort of abbey, where monks live and make wine. I consumed a lot of fantasy fiction as a child, and that’s probably why. However, in my defence, the construction is surrounded by massive walls, trees, detached buildings and gardens. It also looks stunning when seen from the motorway. A lone building in the distance.

Picture taken by me

Bargeddie Parish Church was built in 1876, on the land donated by the owners of Heatheryknowe. It closed during the pandemic and is not to reopen. In fact, it’s now private property, with gates permanently locked. The public has no access.

I know for certain that everyone who travels towards Coatbridge and Airdrie on the M8 has seen this church from afar. It’s such an iconic sight, even though most people don’t know anything about it. As I said, it reminds me of a monastery rather than just your average church. I would love to gain access and see it properly. Does anyone have any memories connected to this place or interesting stories to share? Please get in touch!

PS. I have also found this gorgeous print of the church. I’m definitely going to get it.

The song of the issue is Within (Drumless Edition) by Daft Punk

Even if the name Daft Punk means nothing to you, I encourage you to listen to this drumless version of their 2013 song Within. The track has been stuck in my head for years, and the gentle pianos contrast beautifully with the synthetic, “robotic” vocals. The disco/70s vibe is also prominent, making it a rather charming tune.

That’s it for today, folks! See you in two weeks’ time.

All the best,

Tom