Tom's Glasgow Mag #16

The Festive Season Is Officially On

Hey! If you like what you see, please forward this email to a friend, co-worker, or family member. I would really appreciate it!

Got this email from someone? Click here to subscribe yourself!

Opening Remarks

Hello and welcome! I hope you’re doing great.

Say whatever you want, but for me, the festive season starts on the 1st of December. A full calendar month dedicated to Christmas is way more than enough in my book. I do have to say, I’ve been enjoying the frosty weather this year. It’s nice to be able to see a bit of the blue sky in the mornings, even if the temperatures are a few degrees colder than usual. As long as cold rain and wind aren’t battering me in the face on my way to work, I can deal with -3 degrees just fine…

Happy reading!

Tom

“This Group Makes Running on a Cold Night Fun”

Source: Alison

Are you based in the Southside? Do you want to start running but don’t know where and how to begin? Glasgow Southside Slowies might be the perfect group for you! Established in September 2022, the group seeks to promote the mindset that running socially is much more fun than running on your own. They welcome people of all ages and abilities and encourage absolute beginners to join their community.

Recently, I’ve had a chance to catch up with two of the group’s members. Heather has always liked running, but she wanted to do it with others. “For me, it was mainly the social aspect. It allowed me to combine a hobby with meeting new people,” Heather explained. “I moved just before the pandemic and didn’t get much opportunity to meet people. Slowies has enabled me to meet loads of new people I wouldn’t have gotten to know otherwise. I love that.” I was assured that you will always find someone who runs at your speed. “It makes running on a cold night fun,” she added.

Source: Glasgow Southside Slowies Facebook group

Another member of the group, Alison, has described the Slowies as a safe and supportive space for those willing to start jogging or running alongside like-minded people with no judgement about anyone’s fitness level or abilities. “I really like the sense of community that's naturally built up,” Alison stated. “Everyone is so supportive and cheers on others’ achievements. It's also becoming a great social aspect of my life, too, having made some great friends whilst going from being a complete non-runner to having just done my first half marathon, something I never dreamed I could do, and couldn't have done without this group.”

Glasgow Southside Slowies meet three times a week, but people are free to come along to as many or as few of the sessions as they want. Currently, they meet on the corner of Terregles and Shields Road (outside Titwood Park) every Monday and Wednesday at 6:30 pm, and at the Burgh Hall entrance to Maxwell Park every Saturday at 8 am. CLICK HERE to visit their Facebook group.

Verse Coffee in Shawlands Promotes the Community Spirit

Source: Verse Coffee’s Facebook page

Verse Coffee is a new place in Shawlands that serves expertly brewed specialty coffee, creative signature drinks and homemade cakes. This lovely space focuses on building relationships with the local community. We need places exactly like this one to help our high streets survive. “We focus on creating a welcoming, social atmosphere, taking time to get to know our regulars and build relationships,” Michael from Verse Coffee told me.

Michael continued: “We launch a menu of seasonally adapted signature drinks four times a year, and we are very keen to hear what everyone thinks and have open conversations about the relationships between flavours and the phases of nature! Our current winter menu blends apple, ginger, maple syrup, burnt honey, orange, and more. Plus our vegan/gluten free banana bread has been a staple since day one."

Interestingly, Verse Coffee also hosts various creative events and workshops. The place also exhibits works by local artists. The art can be admired by customers for a few months before the next artist is launched. Personally, I can’t wait to visit! The address is 75 Deanston Drive, Glasgow. The cafe is open between 8 am and 4 pm from Tuesday to Friday. On the weekend, the opening times are 10 am to 4 pm. CLICK HERE to visit their Instagram page.

The song of the issue is Take Me Home, Country Roads by Lana Del Rey

The best American singer-songwriter of the 21st century sounds magnificent on this emotive, subtle and hazy cover of John Denver’s ultimate country classic. Lana’s nostalgic, melancholic touch unlocks new avenues of greatness for this already-iconic track.

That’s it for today, folks! See you in two weeks’ time.

All the best,

Tom