Tom's Glasgow Mag #4

From the East End to Helensburgh

Hey! If you like what you see, please forward this email to a friend, co-worker, or family member. I would really appreciate it!

Got this email from someone? Click here to subscribe yourself!

Opening Remarks

Hiya! I hope you’re doing well. In this issue, we will have an early look at the renovated Provan Hall, discover a brand new play about growing up in Glasgow’s great housing schemes, and see what the upcoming Street Food Market in Helensburgh has to offer.

As usual, please feel free to forward this email to your family and friends. The newsletter project is still early stages. With the help of a designer/strategist, I will be giving this newsletter a brand new look in the coming weeks. New types of articles and guest writers are also on the cards! So please, stick around.

Happy reading!

Tom

Provan Hall Stuns After Renovations

Source: Joan

Many people probably wouldn’t expect that, but one of Glasgow’s oldest buildings is actually located in the heart of Easterhouse, in the East End. There are many theories regarding the year it was built. Some people say 1450, others say 1540… It's like when you watch The Chase, and the moment comes when the teammates have to advise the person at the table on what offer to take on. Everyone says something different. No use at all.

Nevertheless, history and heritage are important. Especially in the East End, where we need any attraction or landmark we can get, as people from other parts of the city tend to overlook this charismatic part of Glasgow.

One thing that for sure will help is the £2million restoration of the Provan Hall, which is due to finish soon. Joan, who is a friend of the newsletter, and featured in issue #2, has recently visited the landmark as a part of a tour, arranged in advance.

Source: Joan

When I asked Joan why more people should hear about Provan Hall, the answer was very similar to my own personal opinion. This is a contender for Glasgow’s oldest building. The discussion, as per above, is ongoing. It’s a pretty big deal. It’s something you would expect to see in Prague or Krakow. And it’s here, in Easterhouse. Quite remarkable, if you ask me! The place also has links to Medieval Witch Trials. It is estimated that more than 2000 people were executed during the trials. The witches allegedly lived near Garrowhill. I think I still know a few!

“I love the windows!”, Joan told me after I challenged her to choose one aspect of Provan Hall she considered to be the most beautiful. “They’re all different shapes and sizes. And the architectural detail is a close second… I can’t wait until the medieval garden is back in bloom too!”

You can visit the official website of Provan Hall by clicking here.

In the Scheme of Things

Source: Susan Sims

A play about growing up in the housing schemes of Castlemilk, Drumchapel and Easterhouse is coming to Shettleston Juniors Hall on the 25th of June. The show is written by Susan Sims and her friend Brian. It’s a satirical and emotional comedy-drama. The co-writer Susan described it as “dark” and mentioned that the plot centres around a dysfunctional family from about 40 years ago.

“I run a community bingo that my neighbour and myself started during lockdown,” said Susan when I chatted to her earlier on. “And I was offered a hall to keep it going. I write, I do acting, comedy… I also love creative arts.”

“So I said to my bingo players that we should put a script together and write a play. They said yes. We sold out straight away. The hall asked me to do a play again this year and we said yes. We have a great cast who have helped pull it all together.”

I think it’s incredible that a play about such universal Glasgow experience has been created by the members of the community. We need more representation of real life and real stories in art and on television. We need more working class people involved in art, more accurate representation of society, and most importantly - we need to support each other’s creative projects.

“In the Scheme of Things” will be performed at Shettleston Juniors Hall on the 25th of June at 7:30 PM. Tickets are £8. You can buy them by clicking here or at the door.

Street Food Sunday in Helensburgh

Source: HLCC / Facebook

Fancy a wee day trip out of Glasgow? Helensburgh and Lomond Civic Centre is organising a Street Food Sunday on the 2nd of July from 1 PM until 6 PM.

If you’re big on street food, small local businesses, or craft markets - it might be a place for you. The entry is free so this could be a lovely excuse to get out of Glasgow for a day and spend time with friends or loved ones!

Judging just by the Facebook pictures, there will be lobsters, pizzas and spring rolls. And I’m sure that’s just a fraction of what will be on offer.

The song of the issue is Fire and Rain by James Taylor ☀️

We’ve had fire for the last couple of weeks, and now - judging by the weather app on my iPhone and the dark clouds outside my window - we're going to have rain. This song, despite being a classic, is a continuation of me forcing my love of late 60s and early 70s on you all. And don’t even get me started on Joni Mitchell. We would be here all day…

That’s it for today, folks! I hope you have a good weekend.

All the best,

Tom